Experiment #2 & 3: Reducing my basal insulin & trying bulletproof coffee

08:00     5.0 mmol/L (two cups of coffee)

09:00     5.0 units Lantus

Bulletproof CoffeeI reduced my morning basal by 1 unit today – from 6 units of to 5 following yesterdays drop. I had two cups of filtered coffee and then I decided to experiment with ‘Bulletproof Coffee’ as I was neither hungry nor doing anything other than lying in bed, so I thought, why not?

Bulletproof coffee is regular coffee but instead of adding milk or sugar, you add grain fed butter and oil before blending it up to mix it thoroughly and give it some froth – I added a teaspoon of coconut oil and a teaspoon of butter to an average sized mug off coffee before adding it to my bullet blender.

10:30     6.0 mmol/L (bullet proof coffee)

I wasn’t happy with my reading of 6.0 mmol/L and reached for my NovaRapid pen, ready to correct. I stopped myself after squirting a test unit, and put it away. I decided to see if my basal would bring me down without bolusing unnecessarily…

12:00     5.2 mmol/L

…it did. Yay. After this discovery, I decided to make breakfast and bolus for the protein.

12:30     1 unit NovaRapid with breakfast (4 pieces of bacon and 3 medium eggs – approx 15g protein)

Bacon and eggs

Postprandial blood sugar reading was 5.9 mmol/L. Sweet.

Today’s BS range: 4.7-6.4 mmol/L

Leave a comment